Daily Post: Mope

Jared walked from the hospital to the community center, leaving Will to sit with Ben until he got back. While he hated leaving Ben, there was something he needed to do.

“Hey, J,” Garrett greeted him at the door, offering him a hug. “How’s the kid?”

“Alive,” Jared shrugged.

“That’s a good place to start,” Garrett grinned. “I’m glad you called. I was figuring on you having a good mope, this is more productive.”

“AA got me through some of my worst days, I figured if I’m going to help my son, it was where I needed to start.” He smirked, “I’ve scheduled moping and self loathing for later this afternoon.”

“All kidding aside, I’m glad the kid is ok.”

“Thanks. It was an accidental OD, brought on by symptoms of a bipolar disorder. He will have to find a therapist and try meds. He’s probably going to hate me for the rest of his life. I did this to him.”

“He can’t blame you for this anymore than he can blame you for his eye color.”

“He has his mother’s eyes,” Jared commented wryly.

“You know what I mean. The kid adores you, I’ve been your sponsor since before he appeared in your life. You have stepped up for him since the day Kara showed up on your doorstep. You will be there for him through all of this.”

“I want to be, but right now, I need to focus on me. Helping Ben, it means revisiting who I was then. It’s like everyone of my tigers are star for me in the face.”

“You are a different person then you were then.”

Jared shook his head. “Not really. I just changed my priorities. My kids come first.”

“How are the twins taking it?”

“They have a lot of questions. Is this going to happen? What the hell was he thinking! How can we help him?”

“Have you eaten? We’ve got fresh coffee and donuts inside.”

“Manna from heaven. I may or may not have picked up smoking again….”

Mope

Leave a Reply

