Daily Prompt:Festive

“Hey, it’s me,” Marina said the moment Alex answered his cell.

“Hola. How’s Ben?”

“Stable for now. How’s Mollie?”

“Okay. I brought he back to my place. We’re having a Girlmore Girls marathon.”

Marina smirked. “That sounds festive. How much does she know?”

“I only expressed that Ben was in the hospital. I left it at that.”

“Thank you. I’ll talk to her when I get home.”

“How’s Jared?”

“He’s beside himself. He feels helpless.” She sighed. “To be honest, the last time I saw him like this… This shell shock led was when Kelly died.”

“Is there anything I can do?”

“You’re doing it. Thanks for taking Mollie.”

“No problem. I’m happy to do it.” He meant it. “She can stay here tonight. J needs you there.”

“Are you sure?”

“Totally. We’ll watch some Gilmore Girls, have a sleep over. I can take her to school in the morning. Whatever you need.”

“I really appreciate this, Alex.” She stopped before adding that it was nice to be able to rely on him.

“Hey, it’s what family does. I know J is your family. I am here if either of you need anything.”

 

Festive

Leave a Reply

