Daily Prompt: Discover

Jared was sitting at Ben’s bedside when Marina suddenly appeared, placing a comforting hand on his shoulder. “Hey, handsome,” she whispered, kissing his cheek. “How is he?”

“Too soon to know anything for certain. How did you know?”

“Alex called me and gave me the gist.” She gazed at the boy she had known since a toddler, lying unconscious in the hospital bed, suddenly appearing younger than his twenty three years.

“I thought I could protect him,” Jared sighed. “I thought… I thought because I knew what it was like to discover you’re bipolar at twenty-six, that I could stop it from happening to him.”

“Is that what the doctor thinks happened?”

“It’s a definite possibility with his family history. This… I never saw coming…”

Discover

Leave a Reply

