Daily Prompt: Calm

“Hello?” Jared answered the phone behind the bar. “Yeah, this is Jared… Yeah… Ben Grey is my son. Wait. Wait. Calm down. What? What happened?” He froze, the color draining from his face and earning curious looks from Alex and Mollie.

“Okay. I’ll be right there.” He slammed the phone down and stared at Alex, dazed.

“J?” Alex inquired.

He shook his head to clear it. “Hey, Mollie, can you go get my jacket out of my office?”

“Sure, Uncle J.” She nodded, disappearing quickly.

“What’s wrong?” Alex asked in a hushed tone.

“That was a nurse from the hospital. Ben was just admitted. They think he tried to kill himself.”

“Oh god. Man, what can I do?”

“I don’t want to say anything to Mollie yet. I have to go. Tristian will be here in about an hour. Can you hang out?”

“Of course!” He nodded emphatically.

Mollie returned with his North Face fleece. “Thanks, kiddo. I’ll see you in a bit.”

 

Calm

Leave a Reply

