Revolution or Revelation?

So, I had my first snow day of the year. Had none last year. I am pet sitting for friends, so I pretty much had nothing to do all day. I went through a couple of magazines, read “Quiddich Through the Ages,” and picked up “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. I’ve tried reading it twice before but never finished it.

I realize I am happier than I had been. I have a new job that I love, working with people I adore. I still have a 45 minute commute, but it’s worth it to still be in close proximity to my parents. My landlords will probably be getting our house ready to sell in the next six months, so I will be looking for a new place to live which is daunting after seven years n one place, but exciting too.

I am 85% ready for the holidays. Cards are written, most presents are wrapped. The tree goes up Saturday.

I am still not where I want to be though. Since I started this new job, I’ve lost my momentum of going to the gym. I am still single, my friends are still preoccupied with their families and I am alone.

Slowly, I am getting a handle on the clutter that is my house. I read all of these self help book – “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo and “You are a Badass” by Jen Sincero, to name a few. It’s all theory. My follow through sucks ass.

But as we approach the new year, I am hoping these revelations become revolutions.

PS Lin-Manuel Miranda is my hero.

Leave a Reply

