Filling the Spaces

Killing some time, I read this blog about writing spaces and started contemplating my writing environment. Since I was a sophomore in high school, I began keeping  journal. I have shelves of them in my apartment. Pages I have filled with my thoughts, rants, and dreams.

I have an all or nothing, love-hate relationship with blogging. I can either write 15 posts in a day in my stream of conscious or nothing at all. The same can be said for my journals, but once I am close to filling it, I feel inspired to write more to finish it quicker. I like the sense of accomplishment it gives me.

But where do I write?

I love the idea of a neighborhood coffee shop, with a comfy chair, music wafting above. Or at a desk by a window like Carrie Bradshaw on Sex in the City. Some place inspirational… Some place cool.

Yet, it never actually happens like that. Sometimes, it’s at my desk… or waiting in a doctor’s office… on the couch while watching NCIS. It might be on my laptop, my iPad, in my journal or a notebook. I actually LOVE the method of actual writing, of filling up pages with in, of the way a pen feels or makes my writing look the neatest.

I love the idea of sitting looking out at water (preferably an ocean) and writing. Sadly, it happens whenever and wherever the urge strikes me. Usually while on my couch. Or when I am supposed to be doing something else.

I need to set up a better routine for my writing. Step one.

Leave a Reply

