Schedule Variations

For the past three school years I would drive an hour each morning to my school, and three days an hour home, but those other two days I’d get out at 3:30, drive an hour and a half to my after school tutoring job, tutor anywhere from 45 – 60 minutes and drive anywhere from a half hour to forty minutes home. Those days were exhausting and except for the paycheck and the kid, I do not miss them. Last week, this week and next week I have to go to an after school program with my student which means I leave work an hour later, and have to drive home in the dark. Across three states.

Not whining. It’s actually not as horrible as I had feared. But it does do something to me mentally. Add our Northeast weather fluctuating back and for from bitter cold to snow and ice and my hibernation instincts kick in. It makes it harder to get up in the morning. It makes me want a nap when I get home from work, which can be good or bad – sometimes refreshing, sometimes altering my sleep pattern even worse. It makes me lose all desire to cook dinner when I get home, no matter how hungry I am. Luckily I do not drive past any fast food chains on my trek or I’d be hitting them up every night. Also, I am grateful I am out of cash so I am not ordering take out when I do get home, but don’t think the idea doesn’t cross my mind.

I tell myself that when next week is over, I’ll be on track again. Until the next schedule disruption. It’s funny because in my career I’ve always been incredibly flexible. I’ve always had to be whether I’ve liked it or not. I roll with the punches (unless someone steals my spoon… but that’s a rant for another day) but whenever I have a disruption in my daily routine, I look at it as carte blanche to get completely off track.

I am looking at January as my month of planning and motivation. It’s half over. I’ve been researching and contemplating and planning. I am looking at February as my beginning. The month to challenge myself. I am no fool. It is also the shortest month of the year (with a week off for February break in the middle). But if I can can be successful for February, then maybe March won’t be so bad.

I am looking to create a motivation board. I am thinking of hanging it in my front hall, so I will see it when I go down the stairs to work every morning and coming up them when I come home. So, I will see it BEFORE I see my couch. I am very aware that I have to play many mind games with myself. I am also very aware that I never win any of them. For example, because I LOVE sleeping and the snooze button, I would set my alarm clock ahead, but ahead an odd number of minutes, never five or ten because that math was too easy. I usually went with six or nine, but still did the math in my head anyway.

So, to sum it up… I want to create a motivation board this weekend. I’ve seen some floating around Pinterest that I need to further investigate. I’ll post any cool findings. And I’ll take a photo of whatever I come up with. I printed off two recipes for dinner next week – a spaghetti and meatballs one and a frittata to make on my breakfast for dinner. I went through my local grocery store’s online flyer (I like it better than the circular that comes in Sunday’s paper. It’s less visually confusing. So, I’ve begun a list based on the ad and the recipes, now I just need to coordinate it with my coupons and my pantry inventory. I’ve ordered a new piece of equipment to help the working out process and I’ve written a blog today.

And who says I’m not productive? Ha!

Leave a Reply

